USA/España: Revlon, Ultra HD Matte Lipcolor

Revlon Matte lipcolor

I would give this product a 2/5 thumbs up, it is ok.

This product follows that recent trend of liquid lipsticks. I was very excited when I saw this in the shop. I picked it up in México in a recent trip to the Mayan Riviera. The color range looks beautiful, and I really like Matte lipsticks, which seems to be also a trend recently. Now, after using it, I have to say I was much less excited. It is an ok product, colors are really pretty, but there are a few buts. Quality in general is fine, but do not expect them to be long lasting, and the colors may look quite intense but they are not as solid it may seem. The biggest issue I find with them after the long lasting issue, is that they are not really Matte. They are not shiny, but not Matte either, I would say somewhere in between. They are pretty colors just don’t expect real Matte. Here is a swatch of the color Amour, the one I liked best, and a comparison with a Mac Retro Matte Relentlessly Red, and La Romanesque a Rouge Allure by Chanel. One is a real Matte, and the other one a semi matte. The Revlon one is more similar to the semi matte finish of the Rouge Allure, but not as long lasting.

Matte revlon comparison

Would I buy this again? Yes, as an everyday easy going lipstick. There are nice colors, just keep in mind its shortcomings, but if there are similar colors in other brands I may rather go for a real Matte or a longer lasting formula.

Leave a Reply

